Ice-cream in a Thermos


image

Image courtesy – Shutterstock

It is a dehydrating, hot day. Drops of water that fall on the pavement from my water bottle, disappear instantly. It’s one of those days when you ache to jump into the pool or sit in a cool airconditioned room with the blinds drawn. Merely seeing the Sun’s brilliance from indoors is also exhausting. Phew! I can do with an ice-cream (the crushed ice variety) that comes on a stick. Mango, lemon and orange.

My thoughts run back to my childhood. Where we lived, it was cold for most of the year. Sunny days in summer were lived and enjoyed to the fullest.

The summer sun was piercing in its intensity. We spent those lazy holidays with our friends, eating sugarcane, raw mangoes and water-melons.

Ice-cream shops were in a town 5 kms away, so our only chance to eat ice-creams was when the ice-cream vendor visited our small community; a rare occurence in our lives.

But the days he visited us were red-letter days. He arrived, with a square wooden box that was mounted on a bicycle. We would run home to pester our parents. Most adults also wanted to eat so we had a win-win there!

The ice-cream man parked on a small hillock, about 150 metres from our street.

To ensure that the ice creams did not melt before they were brought home, we carried one of those big thermos flasks with us.

With mouths watering, we would thrust the money into his hands and carefully put the ice creams into the flask. These were the stick variety and his specialty was a milk-ice cream, which truly tasted like a slice of heaven.

I still remember the yellow coloured thermos; we would sling it across our shoulders and run home.

Both adults and children devoured these ice creams, till the sticks were licked clean – our hearts happy and spirits cooled!

I come back to the here and now. I take matters into my hands; I walk down to the supermarket, pick up a lemon-vanilla stick ice-cream lolly and relive those days all over again.

11 thoughts on “Ice-cream in a Thermos”

  1. I remember those days… wonderful, carefree, free spirited. We used to have a special piggy bank savings for this special occasion as we never knew when the ice cream seller will drop by to our area. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ice cream and memories 😀 ..I still remember my mom won’t allow us to have these candies saying that they are unhygienic having non- edible colors not flavors and water from god knows where 😀 ..But once in a while she would allow us to have them and those moments were heaven for us 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pretty great post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog
    and wanted to mention that I have truly loved browsing your blog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I’m hoping you
    write again very soon!

    Like

  4. I liked this post and the nostalgic tone throughout it. Funny how the memories may fade on some subjects but when childhood joy is remembered, details come to life. You are a born storyteller! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment