My Grandma’s Water Bottle


My mom’s generation was lucky enough to have grown up without knowing too much about plastics.

While my grandmom’s generation mostly used brass and bronze vessels and utensils, my mom’s generation used stainless steel.

Today plastics are in. Colourful trendy water bottles of different shapes and sizes, milk cans, lock and lock boxes, and so many more.

Last year my mom distributed all the bronze utensils she had received from my paternal grandmother.  She had earmarked a few pieces for my siblings and me.

I got the cutest looking 100 year old bronze water bottle – we call it a ‘Kooja’. My grandma used to carry milk or water in this Kooja, when she travelled. Most people of the time had Kooja water bottles.

image

I so love this beautiful water bottle. It is made of bronze. It is also quite heavy. It brings back memories of my grandma. I can imagine my grandma in her saree, carrying this Kooja.

My Kooja sits on one of my corner tables, constantly reminding me of our lovely traditions and history.

I love my Kooja.

Do you have any such thing from your grandparents? Would love to know.

18 thoughts on “My Grandma’s Water Bottle”

  1. Oh how awesome! Reminds me of Little House on The Prairie where the girls would always be running around with these impossibly heavy vessels and then filling them with water!! They must have been a lot more durable than our plastics, not to mention more attractive. Nice keepsake.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great you are lucky to have something which will remind your grandparents. I don’t have any such thing with me which will remind me my grandparents. Nowadays it’s hard to find such old items. I hope you will keep it with you and will take care of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have some pieces of furniture there were my grandmothers, some small statues and these interesting desert plates, with a space to hold the matching tea cup, all in a Chinese painted design.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My Aunt Helen had Hurricane Lamps that used kerosene. Of course she never lit them. They were only decorations which she left to her daughter after she passed away. I have my Grandmother’s musical sewing box which still continues her rosary plus some other odds and ends. It plays, “Let Me Call You Sweetheart.” My Grandmother got married in Jan. 1919. I don’t know if she had the musical sewing box before or after her marriage. She was a Milliner (woman who makes hats) prior to getting married.

    I think that the Kooja is very beautiful and more in keeping with preserving our natural environment. Plastic though lighter and easier to deal with does not biodegrade. Hopefully more plastic in both our countries will be recycled to protect Mother Nature.

    Like

    1. A century old sewing box. What memories it must contain. The box must have been a witness to all.the important moments over so many generations. Just love it.

      I have seen kerosene hurricane lamps too.

      We are lucky to have such precious memories. Thank you so much for sharing.

      Like

  5. I have something similar but made of silver. My grandfather had been a headmaster of the Municipal High school in a place called Hospet. When he retired in 1950 it was presented to him by everyone in his school. He passed away in 1980. Some time ago my mother gave it to me. I fill water in it at night and morning I drink the four glasses of water in it :))

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment