Aaachooooo…..!


I am standing at the checkout line in the local supermarket. The line snakes both in front of me and behind me.  It is the weekend after all, and people are here to stock up.

I check my phone repeatedly for want of anything better to do. I keep refreshing my facebook page, my whatsapp and the news application.  The world is quiet, no ‘breaking news’. I resign myself to the long, boring wait.

I am soon distracted by a little baby in a pram. The baby is probably just a year and a half old.  She is so pretty – chubby cheeks and huge eyes that look like black grapes. She is gurgling, and chewing on a watermelon teething toy.

She smiles at her mom, hits the pram, and babbles on.

I am totally engrossed now, my body automatically moving along the line.

And as I watch, the little girl’s face suddenly contracts in preparation for a sneeze. And before she realizes it, the baby sneeze explodes out of her tiny frame.

image

 
       Courtesy – http://www.gettyimages.in

The startled look on the baby’s face is priceless. She looks wonderingly as if saying, “Hey, what was that now?”

She continues her chewing, and I see it, and she senses it – a second sneeze is on its way. “Aaaachoooo”, she sneezes.

Now she laughs in wonder at what just happened. She claps her hands.

She is now prepared for the next one, but the sneeze quota seems to have dried up. The baby forgets and is soon rubbing her eyes.

I finally manage to reach the cashier. As I carry my bags and walk out I look back to see that the little girl has fallen asleep.

Sometimes there are more interesting things to observe than constantly refreshing one’s phone.

This entry was posted in Everyday moments and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Aaachooooo…..!

  1. Shivangi says:

    Right on Nimi… Great observation!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very true! The description here is priceless Nimi! I really saw that baby and all her facial expressions.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Aadhirai says:

    So cutely captured.. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Enjoyed reading this one!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Erika Kind says:

    Awh, so cute 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  6. 2ndhalfolife says:

    I love to people watch. It’s one of my most favorite things to do!! After all, we are all in this together. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. D K Powell says:

    Lovely observations of life 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

