That perfect, precise moment


Recently, we were at Lake Chilika, South Asia’s largest salt-water lake spread over an area of 1100 sq.kms.

We hired a boat to take us bird-watching on the lake. Hundreds of thousands of birds from different parts of the world migrate to Lake Chilika to escape the harsh winter in their homelands.

We saw many birds, some up close, some from afar (like the Siberian Crane). We saw the Blackcapped Kingfisher, Brahminy Kites, Purple Moorhen, Black tailed Godwit, Egret, Cranes and many other birds.

We were also quite lucky to see the famed Irrawady Dolphins, a couple of them, cutely dancing in the water, right in front of our eyes. Now there, now gone!

The boat ride was peaceful. I love taking pictures and I was busy clicking away, trying to capture different birds.Β  At different places in the lake, fishing nets were put up on stakes. A few birds were perched on this one area on the wooden poles.

I focused my camera and took a few shots. Sadly, I couldn’t see clearly what I was shooting, because of the Sun’s glare. I clicked anyway.

In just a few seconds, my husband and kids whooped in excitement.

“Mom, did you see that?” asked my son, hopping with excitement.

“What?” I asked not believing that I could have missed anything in such a short span of time.

“Did you see how that bird swooped down and caught a fish?” asked my daughter.

I was quite disappointed that I had missed seeing Mother Nature at work.

But I had a surprise waiting for me when we got back to the hotel. In my rapid clicking of pictures, I seemed to have captured the bird’s swooping, catching a fish and flying away. I was so happy. Sharing these beautiful moments with you all.

image

image

image

image

This entry was posted in Everyday moments and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to That perfect, precise moment

  1. Erika Kind says:

    Wow, amazing, Nimi! You were so concentrated on taking photos that you did not see what you just caught πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Adrian B says:

    Nice moments and pictures too, as always.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ladysighs says:

    Very very lovely. I clicked for closeup view. In the next to last picture it looks like the bird has something in its beak.
    Fortunately find for you. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow, interesting that you notice details in your shots. Many of us just skip such repeated shots without glancing at them! After this read, I will make sure I look into my shots before deleting them!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Espirational says:

    Those are the kind of nature shots most of us dream of getting. Congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Amrit says:

    Chilika is in Odisha and it’s my state. Glad you are there.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Amy says:

    Wow, great captures!! Love it. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Aadhirai says:

    Good timing.. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  9. How funny is that? Beautiful pictures, by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. What an amazing adventure that you were able to capture! Well done. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  11. joannesisco says:

    I love happy surprises like that when I look at my photos and see something I wasn’t expecting πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Anna says:

    Beautiful pictures:)

    Liked by 1 person

  13. 2ndhalfolife says:

    What a gift! Lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Sastha says:

    Beautiful pictures, Nimmi! Love the colour combinations! πŸ™‚ I should visit one day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

