Sibling banter


Last night, we wound up after what was a very long day for all of us.

I sat with the kids, listening to their friendly sibling banter, my mind focused on my ‘Things to do list’. Only a few things they said actually registered with me.

image

     Courtesy – http://www.dreamstime.com

One word,  ‘birthday’, made me look up and pay attention. The conversation went something like this.

Son: My birthday’s coming up in a month.

Teen daughter: Wow, yes. What are you planning?

Son: I think I am too old for b’day parties. I will, maybe, have a few friends over.

Teen daughter: Why don’t you want a party? You did the same thing for Halloween. You did not want to go trick or treating.

Son: What’s wrong with that?

Teen daughter: You are growing up too soon..you need to enjoy these things at your age.

(I think, “Wow, my daughter is really giving good advice)

Son: Hmmmm….

Teen daughter: Just remember, if you give up all these things too soon….and then expect to eat all my Halloween candies,  that I gather after hours of planning and make-up, think twice. NO WAY will you get them.

Hmmmm……! So that’s what it was all about…I go back to planning my schedule with a smile on my face.

This entry was posted in Everyday moments and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sibling banter

  1. Nimi
    You make these simple moments so enjoyable for your readers

    big hugs

    john

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting. How old is your son? My son just turned 13 and it seems like I’m more anxious for him to grow out of these things than he is.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Erika Kind says:

    Haha…. lol!!! Thank you for sharing this! That twist is amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Belinda Crane says:

    Older sisters … you have to love them!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Adrian B says:

    Funny story Nimi. Your kids are very smart and they know what they want.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. joannesisco says:

    Wise words – with a less-than-altruistic bend 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

