Overflowing bookshelves


Most days, we allow our lives to flow along, performing everyday chores and keeping our appointments.  Then again, some days, we wake up with a sense of purpose, where we plough through tasks and chores methodically, and feel a strong sense of achievement at the end of the day.

Yesterday, was such a day for me.  I woke up with a clear sense of purpose.  The list of tasks was long, but manageable. So, I wrote it out on my notepad.  I  decided to work my way down the list, not for a moment doubting my strong will power or its ability to drive me to task completion. Enough said.

The first chore on my list was – ‘Clean the two bookshelves’.  See, I had it clearly stated – half the battle won.  Each of these  bookshelves has four racks. Each of these eight racks is crammed with books, and more books.  The books, poor souls, have no breathing space.  I  wanted to give them some respite from being smothered by words!

I first took down all the books from the shelves.  And then, the fun started.  I dusted each one, and sorted them into piles – Must have, Can go, Not sure!  But each time I sorted a book, I flipped through its pages, and sat down cross-legged, just to jog my memory. Aha, the sheer pleasure of reading, surrounded by books.  Soon, I was nose deep in Ayn Rand and R.K.Narayan, Hilary Mantel and Amitav Ghosh.  Time tip-toed around me, giving me complete ownership of those moments of bliss.  I made a mug of coffee for myself (after all, how can reading ever be complete without coffee!).

wpid-2015-03-21-18.31.33.jpg.jpeg

The children have their term break, so when they saw me busy with the books, they sifted through their own, Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, Lord of the Rings, Amelia Jane, Jungle Book, Noddy, Malory Towers and many, many comics.  They refused to part with any of their books.  They suddenly wanted to re-read all of them.

So, to cut a long story short, all books went back to their shelves, clean and comfortable.  I hope they love being in our bookshelves as much as we love having them with us.

I shelved my chores and settled down to read.

This entry was posted in Everyday moments and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Overflowing bookshelves

  1. That sound very familiar…hehe. Boeta is building up a collection too..books everywhere!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. It sounds like you had a great day Nimi 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ha! Reading can be dangerous… if you need to get your chores done.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. notewords says:

    I would call that a productive day! 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  5. So many books, so little time. I love my little babies to death, and I can hardly imagine parting away from them. Once, a bunch of filthy termites attacked those poor souls. I remember, I had been bawling my eyes out for almost a week. I was completely broken!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Sabiscuit says:

    Bookshelves are happiest when overflowing with books. Reading is always a productive enterprise. I hope your weekend is going great. xo

    Liked by 1 person

  7. priyankamoraes says:

    I just donated 200 books to a library and another 50 or so were given out to friends . The task of sorting them out and deciding which ones were the ‘must haves’ and which I could let go was a dilemma !! I spent three days mulling and filling bags and emptying them again just to make sure . I can imagine what you went through . I find it easier to bid people good bye than to give away my books , I dare say !!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Erika Kind says:

    Great achievement in a wonderful way… still have to do that too….. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Biblichor | Peregrinating The Isle Of Life

  10. joannesisco says:

    Now I feel a small amount of guilt when I look at our bookshelves. I’ve been ignoring this to-do item for weeks with books overflowing everywhere.
    Maybe I’m just not ready to consider parting with anything 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  11. mariezhuikov says:

    My solution to crowded books is to get another bookshelf. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. A much better day, no doubt!
    P.S. Love the new Avatar photo of you with your adorable smile. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

