Spooked..


Last night, my children wanted me to sit with them till they went to sleep.  As they relaxed and stretched in their bed, we talked about silly things and shared a couple of jokes. Slowly they dropped off. I had stretched out ..and unbeknownst to myself, I fell asleep in the kids room too!

My husband had gone to sleep early, as he had a headache.

I did not realize that I was fast asleep, until I was woken up by the ringing of a phone.  It took me a while to get my bearings in the room, I moved my hand over the side table and found the phone.It was not mine.

I was still floating in layers of sleep. Finally, some sane corner of my brain figured that it was my husband’s phone. He uses a different brand of phone from mine, and my sleepy head was trying to switch off the annoying alarm.

My eyes were only partially open till then. When I finally looked properly, my heart nearly popped out of my rib cage. It was past midnight and it was a call. The shocking part was that the call was coming-in from our own landline.

Needless to say, I was spooked. My brain was alert with fear, but unable to think coherently. I rushed out of the kids’ bedroom to find that all the lights in the house were switched on!

I called out to my husband in fear. He replied that he was in the living room and asked me if I had seen his mobile? He had tried to locate it using the landline, thinking that it may have gone between the sofa cushions as it usually does.

I felt weak and silly and stupid. I can laugh about it now. But last night…….

This entry was posted in Everyday moments and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Spooked..

  1. Erika Kind says:

    The husband …. that freaky ghost…. great story, Nimi, I totally understand your shock!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. NJ says:

    We may feel silly after the incident is over but at that your heart comes in your mouth 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  3. BunKaryudo says:

    I’m glad it worked out okay. It must have been very scary.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh my gosh, yes, definitely a scary moment. Never good to get calls so late at night! Glad it ended up being something you can laugh at.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. katelon says:

    Did you ask him why he phoned at midnight? That is odd.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Today it’s time for laughing 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. joannesisco says:

    Call coming from inside the house … not funny!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Belinda Crane says:

    All you needed was to have a scary ring tone. You would have been hanging off the ceiling!

    Liked by 2 people

  9. How can you not be spooked by a late night phone call?! I’m glad it was something so innocuous.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. D K Powell says:

    Oh that is so FUNNY!!!! I loved this and may well have to ‘steal’ the idea as the basis for a short story one day. I can imagine you being spooked.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

