Innocence – A short story

Malaika was a little girl, aged five. She lived with her parents and little sister, Sarika, in a beautiful cottage on Fern Hill.  Sarika had just turned three. Malaika was in kindergarten in a school nearby.

Malaika loved Sarika to bits, and Sarika, for her part, followed her sister around and idolized her. Except for school time, the two were inseparable.

Malaika loved her school, her teacher – Ms.Beal, her lessons and her classmates. However, the highlight of every school day was the mid-morning snack break.

Just before the bell rang for snack time, the delicious smell of butter biscuits would waft through the classroom. Malaika’s tongue watered as the food cart was wheeled into the classroom.

Each child was given a nice warm glass of milk and two butter biscuits with it.  Malaika loved the biscuits and the milk.

The best part was yet to come. A few butter biscuits were always left over in the packet, so at the end of the morning, just before school dispersed, Ms.Beal asked questions. The first student to answer each question correctly, was rewarded with a biscuit.

Most days, Malaika managed to answer at least two questions before her classmates did, and took the butter biscuits home to share with her sister, Sarika.

But today, her luck had deserted her. She was not the first to answer even a single question. Tears ran down her sweet face, as she imagined the disappointment on Sarika’s face. What could she tell her? A cloud of worry descended on her face.

The teacher noticed that something was wrong. She asked Malaika to wait. All her classmates left the classroom.

“What’s wrong my dear?”asked the teacher.

Malaika told her that she was very sad that her sister would be disappointed about the butter biscuits.

The teacher smiled and said, “Guess what, I have a couple on my table, you can take those for your sister, ok?”

Malaika said, “Ms.Beal, could you ask me two questions. Please give me the biscuits after I answer them.”

Malaika answered both and took home – two semi-powdered biscuits that were filled with love and happiness, to her little sister.

When Sarika saw her elder sister, she shouted, “Butter biki, butter biki, give me.”

Malaika said, “Wait…I have brought them. I never forget, you know that.”

29 thoughts on “Innocence – A short story

      1. Belinda Crane

        Not at all Nimi! It was the powerhouse of the story. Sisterly love aside, Malaika believed it was so important for her to maintain her integrity even though she could have lost the biscuits that were offered to her for nothing by answering the questions wrong. I don’t know if I’ve ever said this to you before …. but I love your stories!!! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  1. andeepak

    That’s so nice, talking of integrity reminded me something a couple of weeks back I purchased a few coconuts from road side tender coconut vendor as usual I asked him how much he told some price I just paid and took the coconuts, couple of days later while I was walking he called me and he told me that he had charged me more and asked me to give 2 rupees and gave one coconut, I was surprised I almost said thats ok keep the money but would have belittled him I actually gave him the 2 rupees and got the extra coconut. I was amazed to see this from a person who barely makes his ends meet.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Belinda Crane

    Reblogged this on Belinda Crane and commented:
    There are quite a few stories that I have read here on WordPress that I think about from time to time. This is one of them. It is the most beautiful story written by a lady that writes so delicately from her heart. Her short stories are beautiful and her posts ignite the most precious memories in you. If you haven’t met Nimi yet go and experience her website. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. nimi naren Post author

      Thank you very much for taking the time to read this. I am glad you liked it. Yes, Malaika’s wanting to earn it and not take the easy way out is what I really wanted to focus on in the story. Thank you once again.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

